top of page


What are the Sacraments?

The seven sacraments - Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Communion, Confession, Marriage, Holy Orders, and the Anointing of the Sick - are the life of the Catholic Church. All of the sacraments were instituted by Christ Himself, and each is an outward sign of an inward grace. When we participate in them worthily, each provides us with graces - with the life of God in our soul. In worship, we give to God that which we owe Him; in the sacraments, He gives us the graces necessary to live a truly human life.

The first three sacraments—Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Communion—are known as the sacraments of initiation, because the rest of our life as a Christian depends on them.

The seven sacraments can be divided into the following:

Sacraments of Initiation – Baptism; Confirmation; Holy Eucharist
Sacraments of Healing and Restoration – Reconciliation; Anointing of the Sick
Sacraments of Communion and Mission – Holy Orders; Matrimony

Sacraments: Text
Sacraments: Features
bottom of page